For Samanthya Wyatt, the Dream Was Worth the Wait

I’m delighted to host Samanthya Wyatt, mother and accountant-turned-romance writer who is currently celebrating the release of The Only One, the third book in her One and Only Series. Samanthya waited many years for her writing dreams to come to fruition, but she is making the most of the experience now! After you read this interview about how she got started, visit her website,  http://samanthyawyatt.com/author/.  If you have ever felt frustrated by the publishing process, or if you are struggling to commit to your dreams, read about Samanytha’s experiences. Her kindness and honesty will make you feel like someone is holding your hand through the challenging and disheartening process of writing and publishing a book.

How long have you wanted to be a romance writer? When did you decide to write a book?

I wrote poems and short stories as a child. Once I found romance novels, I couldn’t put a book down. With so many ideas running through my head, I decided to pursue my dream of writing. My husband was in the military, we traveled the world, raised a family and then we settled in the Shenandoah Valley. Once my children were grown, I decided it was time to act on my dream.

What inspired you to write this story?

I spent 14 years working on my first historical. Once “The Right One” was published, I was asked what happened to Kat’s brother. So the second book in the series “The True One” was created. I fell in love with the duke and decided he needed his own story. So book 3 in the series is “The Only One.”

Did you work on simultaneous projects?

I’m always working on simultaneous projects. My first contemporary was created while I was editing my first historical. I’d gone over the chapters so many times, my eyes were crossed.  I couldn’t be sure if I was actually seeing what was written or what it was supposed to be. So, to get my mind off edits of my first historical, I wrote a scene with two women bantering back and forth on a cruise ship. The words seemed to flow and I had a ball. Even with a few chapters  yet to finish on “The Only One,” I started a Christmas contemporary. So I do work on more than one book at a time.

What was the rest of your life like while writing the book? 

Of course, my children came first, I had a 40 hour a week job and never time for myself. Then my kids grew up. When my husband worked night shift, I stayed up all hours of the night. That was my time to write. Now I’m retired, Thank God, and my time is still limited. We go to ballgames, cheerleading, doctor appointments, make time for my mom, cook—cause hubby likes to eat. And because I no longer have a day job, everyone thinks I have all this free time and want me to do whatever—including babysit. LOL

Who gave you feedback as you worked through writing the book?

I am a member of a critique group of historical writers. Everyone has an opinion and everyone’s opinion is different. That’s the fun of a group. Sometimes you may get feedback within a week, or it could be a month. So a true critique partner is a wonder to have. Still working on that.

What kept you going through the process?

My will to have my dream, and my husband has been a true inspiration. Every time I would go into a book store, he would say, “One of these days that will be your book sitting on that shelf.” He’s the best.

What happened between hearing your yes and getting the book to print?

The yes—for sure—was when I signed the contract. My editor returned a first round of edits. I agreed or made comments, made changes, which thank goodness there were no major changes, and I sent it back. She sent another round and a final. I filled out a questionnaire for my book cover and was amazed when I got a draft. I had no idea what to expect, but I LOVED it. My characters were caught perfectly on the cover. It doesn’t get any better than that. Then my publisher contacted me with a release date and my baby was born. Heavy sigh.

What would you change if you could?

The only thing I would change on my journey to getting my book published—I would have started sooner. I would not have let my MS gather dust in the closet for 14 years. But, I made it. And my advice is to never give up. Go for your dream.

 theonlyone (600)_edited-2A dangerous lord’s warning sparks devastating results

 One impulsive kiss to prove the young girl flirted with danger shakes Giles’ firm resolve. The young American is wild and reckless, and before long he realizes, she’s too much to handle. He surrenders. A duke must adhere to his duty. His title demands his home is in England. Tormented with longing for the woman who branded his very soul, he forsakes nobility and returns to claim the love he has carelessly thrown away.

A girl’s determination triggers a woman’s desire

From the first moment Alexandria saw the duke she knew he would be hers. Determined to get the man she wants, she devises a plan, curbs her reckless nature, and presents the proper lady his nobility requires. The interference of her brothers disrupts her amours pursuit, yet the feisty girl seduces the lord with a woman’s passion, and brands the duke hers forever.

Buy link: http://www.amazon.com/Only-One-Book-ebook/dp/B016ABG1S2/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1444400270&sr=1-1&keywords=the+only+one+by+samanthya+wyatt

Samanthya Wyatt

Samanthya lives with her husband in the Shenandoah Valley. She left her accounting career and married a military man traveling and making her home in the United States and abroad. Once she found historical romance novels, she couldn’t put a book down. She fell in love with the characters and needed to know their happy ending.

One day she put words to paper creating a story of her own. The more she wrote, the more she became involved with the characters, and they seemed to take a life of their own. She relishes the challenge of penning a story with strong characters, a bit of humor, and active scenes. She enjoys creating new characters and bringing them together in a romantic tale. It took years of writing, joining RWA, joining chapters, entering contests, submissions& rejections which created the author she is today. By keeping her spirit and turning criticism into drive she has achieved her career as a published romance author.

I love to hear from readers. To find out more about me and updates on my books, please visit my website:  http://samanthyawyatt.com

 

2 thoughts on “For Samanthya Wyatt, the Dream Was Worth the Wait

  1. Samanthya, I love your book titles. As a writer myself I struggle with choosing just the right one that rolls ofd your tongue, especially when dealing with series, where there has to be some kind of continuity. Yours are perfect!
    I also work on multiple projects, rather in the same vein you do, including historical/contemporary. Are we twins separated at birth? lol
    Good luck with your latest book!
    Kimberly Keyes

    Like

Leave a Reply

