Kim Loraine Makes It Look Easy

I’m delighted to host, Kim Loraine, author of Restoration and the soon to be released Renovation of the Golden Beach series. Although Kim has certainly paid her dues, writing while working full-time, finishing school, raising kids and moving to Japan, she seems to have hit her stride now.

Kim shares great advice with other writers: “If you have a story to tell, if you are passionate about it, then put it on paper. Write it until you get it all out. Revise it until it is polished. Love it before you submit it.”

How long have you wanted to be a romance writer? When did you decide to write a book?

I’ve always loved reading romance and had played around with half finished books for years. Once the idea for Restoration hit me, I couldn’t stop writing. I had to finish the story.

What inspired you to write this story?

I was watching a TV show and the main character’s husband had died. I remember thinking, “What would happen if she met a man who looked just like him?”

[Such a great premise!]

Describe your process for writing this particular book.

I wrote whenever I could. I was working full time, finishing  my BA, and had two kids under 5. Towards the end my whole family also moved to Japan from the US.

I started writing without an outline, just letting the words come, then about halfway through I realized I needed a plan. That’s when I went back and outlined the whole thing.

How long did it take to complete?

It took me at least 6 months to complete the first draft. Then months of revisions.

Was this the first book you had written?

This was the first book I’d ever finished.

[It’s so hard to finish one!]

Who gave you feedback as you worked through writing the book?

I have a couple of awesome critique partners. My friend Kristi Rose is published with Kensington. She helped me immensely because she had just gone through the whole thing.

What else kept you going through the process?

My husband and my BETA readers. They have all been wonderfully supportive.

How many submissions did you send out?

I think I submitted to 6 agents (all rejected) and 9 publishers. I got two offers.

What did you do when you got the go-ahead?

We went to Tokyo Disneyland!

What happened between hearing your yes and getting the book to print?

Edits, edits, and more edits. I learned a lot about what it takes to get a book ready for publication.

Restoration #7b Final (medium 600X900) copy

Restoration: A Golden Beach Novel

After the tragic death of the love of her life, Grace McConnell only has one constant in her life, work. When she is offered a lead architect position on a project in a small English village, she jumps at the chance to get away from her hometown full of memories. Grace quickly discovers that this change was exactly what she needed to heal her broken heart. Until she meets Drew Tensley, a man who just happens to be the spitting image of her lost love.

Drew Tensley has always been a hard worker. Dedicated to his family and community, Drew put aside his own career to take over the family business after his mother’s terminal cancer diagnosis. A decision that cost him his marriage and career. Five years later, Drew is ready to start living for himself.

At war with her own heart, Grace tries to come to terms with the motives behind her feelings for Drew while he realizes just how far he is willing to go for love.

Buy link: http://amzn.com/B00VS8X28U

Renovation #1c Final (850)_edited-1

The second book in the Golden Beach series, Renovation, comes out October 28.

kim loraine pic

Kim Loraine is the author of the “Golden Beach” series, including “Restoration” (2015) and “Renovation” (2015). She started writing at a young age, scribbling down song lyrics, short stories, and poems she was too afraid to share with anyone. Busy working as a music teacher in her Pacific Northwest hometown, it wasn’t until her family of four picked up everything and moved to beautiful Japan that she decided to finally take the plunge and send her characters out into the world.

The central theme in Kim’s books is self-discovery, whether that is found through taking risks, breaking down walls, or admitting mistakes. Kim likes to write characters that seem like someone you actually know, who find that life is a journey not without its challenges.

When not writing Kim spends her time with her husband, chasing around their crazy kids, exploring Japan, and binge-watching Doctor Who on Netflix.

 

Leave a Reply

