Rosalie Redd Shares Her Journey From Accountant to Fantasy Romance Writer

I’m so excited to host self-published fantasy/science fiction writer Rosalie Redd. Rosalie got hooked on paranormal romance years ago and hasn’t stopped reading them since! A year after retiring from her career as an accountant and dedicating her life to writing fiction, she self-published her debut, Untouchable Lover.

Read this interview for helpful cost-saving advice (that we can all appreciate!) and for a fascinating walk-through of Rosalie’s thought processes as she conceived the idea for her novel. I have a feeling Rosalie never stops thinking!

How long have you wanted to be a romance writer? When did you decide to write a book?

Hi Cate, thanks for having me on your blog. Wow, that’s a great question. In 2005, I picked up my first paranormal romance, If Angels Burn, by Lynn Viehl and was immediately hooked. Who knew books existed that brought together paranormal and romance? I certainly didn’t. I grew up on science fiction, horror, and fantasy classics, but hadn’t read much romance. I finished that book and knew I’d found something special. Over the course of the next few years, I read as many paranormal romance books as I could get my hands on. As I immersed myself in the genre, ideas and characters formed in my head. It wasn’t until 2013 that I started plotting out my first story, and the end result became my debut novel Untouchable Lover.

What inspired you to write this story?

The characters in my head wouldn’t leave me alone until I did. Well, ok, that’s part of the answer. The rest is I wanted to write a story that had a happy ending. I wanted to do something, in some small way, to share my belief in the good in others. The best way was to share the story between my hero and heroine. I wanted to show how Noeh and Melissa overcame their own fears and learned to open their hearts to a better, stronger love. For me, it’s all about the happily ever after.

Describe your process for writing this particular book.

I love the mystery of ancient societies—when civilizations existed before written history. There are ruins all over Earth that have similarities in structure and construction, yet are thousands of miles apart. Who built these structures? How did these people live? What happened to them? I’ve often wondered what life in these ancient civilizations was like. I thought, what if I wrote a love story about a couple that came from one of these ancient societies?

With that idea in mind, I decided to do a bit of research. There are many legends about the great civilization of Atlantis and its destruction, but along the way, I heard about an even older civilization called Lemuria. I found a few books on the subject and dived in. The myths and legends surrounding Lemuria indicated a great civilization thrived in the island chains of the Pacific Ocean, disappearing about ten thousand years ago from rising sea levels and a great flood.

Fascinated with this ancient society, I wanted to create a story that provided an alternate reality for the Lemurians, showcasing their struggle to survive against an age-old enemy, yet finding love along the way. What if the Lemurians were actually a race of shape-shifters from another planet, here to protect Earth and it’s most precious resource—water? If the Lemurians lived in the Pacific Islands, and were forced to scatter throughout the world due to the destruction of their homeland, maybe they are still hidden among us and continue to battle for Earth? From that, The Worlds of Lemuria: Earth Colony was created with Untouchable Lover the first book in the series.

How did you fit your writing into the rest of your life?

In early 2014, I retired from my accounting job. This gave me the opportunity to pursue my dream to write, so I took the bull by the horns and didn’t look back. My family has been incredibly supportive. I couldn’t have done this without their encouragement and support.

What helped you the most as you worked through the process of writing your first book?

Hands down, critique partners and beta readers. Having someone else take a look at your story is critical as they see the plot and characters from a different perspective. The feedback they provided was invaluable to my education and made the book so much better. I cherish my critique partners and beta readers!

What happened between hearing your yes and getting the book to print?

I chose to self-publish. I’m too much of a control freak to put my stories in someone else’s hands, so I decided that self-publishing was the best option for me. This means that I have to do all my own marketing and publishing, but I’m fine with that. As the countdown to publication approached, my ‘to do’ list exploded. Good thing I’m an organized person!

What has surprised you most about this process?

Hmmm….tough question. I guess the biggest surprise would have to be the amount of work involved in getting from the initial idea to a published book. The revisions were endless and the learning curve seemed insurmountable, but to see the completed book sail out into the world was priceless.

What would you change if you could?

Without doubt, I’d have beta readers take a look at the story before sending the story off for copy edits. That was a costly mistake, as I had to send the manuscript through copy edits twice. Guess I learned that lesson the hard way. Other than that, I’ve really enjoyed the whole experience and would do it again in a heartbeat!

 

UntouchableLover2Final-FJM_High_Res_1800x2700

His crown or a forbidden female? One tough choice.

A devastating war…
Across the globe, shape-shifting Lemurian warriors battle against a deadly enemy in the dark of night. The prize—Earth’s most precious resource—water, and the fate of humankind. To unite the soldiers, Lemurian gods send the diverse species to the underground Keep to join forces with their brethren and contend against their adversary.

An illicit allure…
While searching for his missing healer, King Noeh didn’t expect to find an unusual, green-eyed female chained to the wall in an abandoned asylum deep in the woods, evidence of her torment in the branding iron at her feet. Captivated, he rescues the petite female and brings her to his underground home. Despite the requirement to select a queen of his species by the next new moon or lose his crown, a forbidden attraction blooms.

A tormented soul…
Haunted by the memory of her dead mate and child, Melissa can’t escape her past or her future. On the run from her controlling master, she didn’t intend to get captured by the enemy, or be rescued by a brooding, handsome king. When she succumbs to her need for a male’s blood and drinks from the honorable king, she can’t ignore the compelling desire he ignites in her soul.

 

Rosalie Redd  09 for web

 

After finishing a rewarding career in finance and accounting, it was time for Rosalie Redd to put away the spreadsheets and take out the word processor. She writes Fantasy/Science Fiction Romance inspired by classics from the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres layered with a good, hot dose of romance.

Her debut novel, Untouchable Lover, won or was a finalist in several contests sponsored by local chapters of Romance Writers of America.
She lives in Oregon, where rain is just another excuse to keep writing. When not at her computer, you can find her at Jazzercise, waterfall collecting in the Pacific Northwest, or relaxing with her husband and their pesky cat, Snookums.

Social Media Links:

Buy Links:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B019ZVIC8G?*Version*=1&*entries*=0
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1123057770?ean=2940152720044
https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/untouchable-lover
https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1064134542

 

Leave a Reply

