Andrea Cooper Sings Beta-Readers’ Praises

I’m excited to host self-published author Andrea Cooper today! In this interview, Andrea shares invaluable, concrete advice that will help you become a better writer.

How long have you wanted to be a romance writer? When did you decide to write a book?

I wanted to be a romance writer when I wrote my first romance fifteen years ago. The reason I started writing was I had all the characters and stories going through my mind and I enjoyed reading. At first, I wrote the stories for me, then I thought maybe others would enjoy them too.

What was your biggest challenge when you were trying to publish your debut novel?

Going through the editing process. I had never had a professional editor go through my writing. It was extremely insightful and humbling.

How is self-publishing compared with publishing with a small press?

With self-publishing, I have total control. However, it also means I’m responsible for the cover, editing, all marketing, etc. Typically with a small press they handle a lot of that – except the marketing.

What has surprised you most about this process?

That many authors have tons of beta readers and several editors. I read an acknowledgement on a best-selling author’s novella where she thanked 23 beta readers!

What would you have done differently if you could start all over again?

Lots of things. First, I would have found as many beta readers as possible. Before I was published and even after I had three novels published, I only had a few friends and family read my stories. I see now how they would have been so much better had I gotten more readers beforehand.

What is the single most important thing an unpublished writer should do to get published?

Besides beta readers and critique partners, it’s finding your audience and building your author platform now. Show people your struggles and growth. Create a Facebook, Twitter, and everything else accounts. Don’t wait until the book is published.

What is the best writing advice you have ever gotten?

Read your story aloud. Of course if you’re really lucky, enlist friends/family and assign them parts and print out just the dialogue and who’s talking (kind of like a screen play). That in itself will take your dialogue from good to great.

Do you have a favorite debut author? If so, who?

I have several: T.F. Walsh, Sharon Kay, and Tmonique Stephens

claimed

Claimed Book 1 – Paranormal Romance – Forthcoming April 2016

Blurb:

Incubus Damon hunts for a crystal to stop him from becoming a full-demon. But time is running out.

Renee wants to earn her own archeological dig, despite arrogant Damon’s demands. Yet, she gets more than she bargained for when she finds a unique crystal in the ruins of Turkey.

andrea cooper

Andrea R. Cooper writes fantasy, paranormal, historical and romantic suspense.

Her favorite childhood memories revolved around creating vibrant characters for her friends, and then acting out their adventures. Inside her fantasy worlds of darkened forests, dragon-filled glades, and iced islands, nothing was banned. From the ethereal Elvin to the most maligned Vampires, all were welcome in her fictional realities, a stark contrast to her home, where the magical and mythical was forbidden.

4 thoughts on “Andrea Cooper Sings Beta-Readers’ Praises

Leave a Reply

