Roni Hall On Her Debut, Montana Wild

I’m delighted to host Roni Hall, debut author who recently published Montana Wild, described by a reviewer as “an enthralling, action-packed novel…a real page turner.” In this interview, Roni shares her inspiration and the email that turned around a terrible day. Don’t miss her biography; Roni shares the beginning of a love story that could be a tease for her next novel. I’d love to find out how that charismatic guy in the diner wooed his waitress!

When did you decide to write a book?

My kids were finishing high school and life was slowing down. I had more time and instead of taking up knitting, I took up writing.

What inspired you to write this story?

As a nurse, I encountered numerous memorable patients, but there were a few that forever settled into my heart. Montana Wild is fiction, but Jacob, the patient in the story was real. In the span of a human lifetime, I knew him a very short time, but his spirit had a lasting effect on me. Jacob died decades ago, but he stays with me and inspired me to write.

Describe your process for writing this particular book.

I am a ‘panster’. I write by the seat of pants. I can’t plot a story out.

How long did it take to finish your book?

It took a few years because at first it was just a hobby. When life got busy, writing stopped. Once, I put it down for over a year!

How did you fit your writing into the rest of your life?

After my day job is finished at 5, writing is my go to. It relaxes me.

Who gave you feedback as you worked through writing the book?

My husband and daughter. My husband read it numerous times during editing. LOL

What kept you going through the process?

An inner calling to finish something I created.

What did you do when you got the go-ahead?

I remember the day well. We had a historical rain storm that flooded the streets and I was exhausted from a 3-hour white knuckled drive home from work. I was exhausted but once I opened the acceptance email the stress of the day vanished.

What happened between hearing your yes and getting the book to print?

Editing, editing and more editing!

What has surprised you most about this process?

It never goes as quickly as the author would like.

What would you change if you could?

It’s a learning process and I think your first book is like your first baby . . . you learn so much. It would be nice if it was a speedy ride with no bumps, but we know that is not life.
MontanaWild1800

Spiraling downward after losing two loved ones within one week, Jamie’s world was closing in…until she grabs an unexpected lifeline and escapes. Knowing only New York City, Montana is another world and she is unprepared by how the land, the people and even the animals touch her. After risking her life to save a child, Jamie shares an undeniable bond and the beginning ripples of deep emotions with her co-rescuer, Kevin. However, her past follows her to Montana and threatens all that she loves there. Jamie has no choice but to hurt Kevin in order to save his life and returns to New York with her ex, Derrick. Broken, Kevin refuses to believe she doesn’t love him and searches for Jamie, only to find her in Derrick’s lair. Once again Jamie tries to protect Kevin but this time gets caught in the cross fire.

 

RoniHall-Headshots-14
The summer after high school graduation, Roni worked two jobs to pay for nursing school. During the midnight shift as a waitress, a charismatic young man at the counter flirted with her for hours as he consumed seven cups of coffee. Their first date was eventful enough to be a book itself! Thirty-seven years and two kids later, the love story continues. Just like her novels, life can’t be too simple and you must make it an adventurous ride!

Her favorite place to write is in her hammock at their small Michigan cottage where she literally dodges the feeding hummingbirds while being serenaded by the lake’s loons. Besides writing, she loves Slow Rollin’ in Detroit and the combination of good food, better wine, and dear friends.

 

One thought on “Roni Hall On Her Debut, Montana Wild

Leave a Reply

